Sunday, January 22, 2006

Federal Grain Company

Federal Grain was formed in 1929, when nine companies merged together. They were: the Federal Grain Co., Consolidated Elevator Co., Northwestern Elevator Co., Stewart Elevator Ltd., Topper Grain Co., International Elevator Co., McLaughlin Elevator Co., Brooks Elevator Co., and Union Grain Company Ltd.

Alberta Pacific became a wholly owned subsidiary of Federal in 1943, and the Searle Grain Co. amalgamated with Federal in 1967. Finally in 1972, Federal elevators were sold to the three provincial wheat pools (Alberta Wheat Pool, Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, and Manitoba Wheat Pool.

(Special thanks to Sask Grain Elevators - Inventory-based research project (Maureen Pederson September 2000))

There were an estimated 238 Federal Elevators In Alberta

As of 2006, there is only 1 Left Standing, South of Duffield.


It was photographed south-west of Duffield, east of Wabamun on the main CN line, running west of Edmonton. The elevator was originally built by Home Grain in 1924, and was bought out by Alberta Pacific and then Federal in 1967. It was closed in July of 1971, and moved to it's present location in 1974.
I am planning to photograph this elevator sometime this year.